In Another Light



John Spillane releases his new album ‘In Another Light’ on Friday October 15th. These songs were recorded live on November 13th 2021 in Cork Opera House as part of the Right Here Right Now Festival. Available to pre-order on Bandcamp on CD, Vinyl and Digital Download.

Digital Download €10

CD €15

LP €25

2.The Dance of The Cherry Trees
3.All The Ways You Wander
4.Song Intro – We Come in The Wind
5.We Come in The Wind
6.Prince’s Street
7.Passage West
8.Magic Nights in the Lobby Bar
9.Under That Old Clare Moon
10.Hey Dreamer
11.The Dawn Chorus
12.Will We Be Brilliant or What?

These orchestral arrangements represent the very best versions of these songs.
I could not wish for better. It feels as if the songs have done their time, travelled many roads, and have finally found their true home, on this album, right here, right now!
Each of these creative young arrangers has painted beautiful soundscapes that complement the songs brilliantly. I am thrilled by the big cinematic feel of the record. The arrangers feel like a younger me, romantic blades who believe in the beauty of music and poetry and the beauty of everything.

These songs were written over a 36 year period from Princes Street in 1983 to Under That Old Clare Moon in 2019.
I am delighted that there are such lovely uplifting moments of joy and celebration in these versions.
My work here is done!
John Spillane,
Passage West,
Spring 2022.

Performed by:
John Spillane – Vocals & Guitar
Pauline Scanlon – Vocals
The Cork Opera House Concert Orchestra:

Leader Alan Smale
Violin 1 Dave McElroy, Lyn O’Reilly, Rachael Masterson
Violin 2 Tom Crowley, Mary MacCague, Holly McConnell, Caoimhe Brown
Viola: Elaine Kenny, Niamh Quigley
Cello: Grace Coughlan, Alona Kliuchka, Jake Ryan
Double Bass: David Whitla
Flute: Kieran Moynihan
Oboe: Ciara Glasheen Artem
Clarinet / Saxophones: Michael Lynch, Ken Marshall
Bassoon: Marie Essalmi
French Horn: Cuan Ó Seireadáin, Michael Long
Trumpet: Mark Adams, Michael Mullins
Trombone: Eoghan Kelly, Colm O’Hara
Harp: Anne-Marie Papin Labazordière
Percussion: Patrick Lynch

Conducted by John O’Brien
Guest conductor for Under That Old Clare Moon – Robbie Pender

These songs were arranged by:
Paul Frost – The Dance of the Cherry Trees, All The Ways You Wander, Magic Nights in the Lobby Bar, The Dawn Chorus, Will We Be Brilliant Or What?
Kevin Codd – Princes Street
Robbie Pender – We Come In the Wind, Under That Old Clare Moon
Daniel Murphy – Passage West, Hey Dreamer

Recording Engineer Colm Hinchion
Live Sound engineer – Daragh Murphy
Mixed & Mastered at Wavefield Studios Clonakilty
Artwork by Megan Clancy Creative

All songs composed by John Spillane IMRO MCPS except Magic Nights in the Lobby Bar (J. Spillane, R. Lynch, G. Wolfe) IMRO MCPS